Walking through the Miami airport last night this feeling came over my whole body.  It felt like I couldn’t breathe, as I walked to baggage claim my heart beat fast and anxiety crept in.  I couldn’t figure out why I was anxious…was it because I was traveling?  Was it because I hadn’t seen my girls in so long?  Or was it because I was sad to leave and nervous?  But as I answered NO, to all of these questions, the anxiety didn’t go away.

 

I decided to get a hotel room since I could tell it would be a long night of fighting off whatever it was that had crept into my heart and mind.  As soon as I entered the hotel room at 10:30pm it got worse.  I prayed to not be anxious.  And I realized this feeling was not anxiety.  I prayed to not be fearful.  And I realized that this feeling was not fear.  Finally, I knew what it was.  Oppression.  My heart beat faster as I became keenly aware of the spiritual oppression almost tangible in the air.  I prayed. It thickened in my room as I crawled into bed.  I called one of my good friends who spoke Truth into me and prayed for me.  And then I tried to go to bed again.  The oppressive feeling grew…I grabbed my bible and read a few verses…I switched on and off the light, opened and closed my bible at least a dozen times trying to work past this feeling so I could go to sleep.  As my eyes became heavy and my mind was racing through scripture….I slowly dozed off to sleep for an hour…as I was awakened by my alarm I sat up quickly, checked my heart and immediately praised God for feeling better.

 

I quickly jumped in the shower, packed up and headed to get on the plane to Port au Prince.  In the Miami airport the oppression returned but my excitement to get home and see my girls at the airport (they didn’t have school- Mardi Gras)  overshadowed any other feelings I was having.

 

Through the ride on the airplane I was lucky enough to sit next to a guy with a very interesting job working with aviation here in Haiti…so thankfully I was pretty distracted.

 

The second I stepped off the plane it was like a HUGE cloud of oppression surrounded me again.  This feeling met with the thick, hot air of Haiti was like a recipe for disaster.  As we got on the bus to get our luggage, I witnessed a young girl step off the bus to run away and puke in a corner outside, I thought that maybe I was next.  I had felt spiritual warfare before, but NEVER this strongly and for this long.

 

I continued to pray the whole way through immigration and customs and was finally met by the sweet, beautiful faces of my girls.  My heart rejoiced and I felt a peace with finally seeing them!!!

 

Through dinner and as I put them to bed I could feel the oppression creeping in again…I began singing as we bathed.  My girls and I prayed vigorously with Rita downstairs before heading upstairs when finally I felt like I could breathe again.  I could feel the OVERCOMER overpowering the Oppression.

My heart felt released.  As I worked through (and discussed) this oppression I just KNEW this was going to happen sooner or later.  Where God is doing SO many amazing things, the enemy gets angry.  When God is growing, loving and teaching amazing vessels, the enemy feels threatened.  Respire Haiti is a THREAT to the enemies plan to destroy…and because Respire Haiti is truly GIVING these children a new life by teaching them their identity in HIM….the enemy cringes.

 

I know that over the next few days and months and years this will not be the first time this happens.  The enemy is angry because GOD IS SUCCEEDING.  God is CHANGING Gressier and the people here.

 

This does NOT make him happy.

 

After returning to Haiti refreshed and renewed spiritually and with spending HOURS and HOURS of time researching laws, restaveks, education and childrens rights and speaking to many individuals who have worked on this for years, I have never felt so EQUIPPED to FIGHT for these Restaveks and vulnerable children in Haiti.

 

I KNOW that the spiritual warfare will not stop here or now.  But, God is STRONGER,  He is more Powerful and most importantly He has already won the battle.  :)